About  us

ARTCRY is led by a group of artists, creatives, agitators and producers. We believe that a new fund can encourage and enable more artists to make work as part of our public dialogue, and that we need this now. 

Steering Committee

We are the steering committee and first funding panel for ARTCRY. The panel will change every six months so that the people who get to make decisions on who gets awarded funding regularly changes. 

2020.01.22_Suzanne Alleyne (photo by Car

Suzanne Alleyne

Manuela 3.PNG

Manuela Benini


Shazia Bibi

ben monks 2.jpg

Ben Monks

Sara b&w.png

Sara Sjölund

alistair spalding.jpg

Alistair Spalding

Kathryn Artcry.jpg

Kathryn Bilyard

ferg cooper 2.jpg

Ferg Cooper

suba 2.jpg

Suba Das


Jonzi D

The panel are involved on an individual capacity, not representing their organisations and on a voluntary basis.  


James Graham, Ivan Michael Blackstock, Stephanie Dittmer, Jude Kelly, Deb Mullins, Arji Manuelpillai, Alan Lane, Keisha Thompson, Kate McGrath,  Akram Khan, Nathalie Teitler, Dan Glass, Le Gateau Chocolat and Deborah Frances-White 

“There is a desperate need for funding that allows artwork to speak directly to the time it is happening in. To be actively political, the turn-around time of funds needs to be in line with the speed at which change is happening / needs to happen.”

– Josie Dale-Jones and Philippa Hogg. 



ARTCRY's funding comes from donations from individuals, there is no other pot of money making this happen. THANK YOU to everyone who has supported ARTCRY.  Our supporters so far are below, so is the DONATE button if you are able to join them in supporting ARTCRY please do.


Special and enormous thanks to Lord and Lady Mitchell for laying the cornerstone with our very first offer of support. It is no exaggeration to say that without your guidance, enthusiasm, and willingness to get on board at such an early stage (before the fund even had a name) we would never have got this far. 

Cornerstone Supporters (£2,000+): Lord and Lady Mitchell, Angela Bernstein and anonymous

The Beams (£500+): Rosalind Riley, Kieran Hebden


The Joists (£200+): Gabriel Vogt, Hilary Bilyard, Rachel Millward, Jennifer Bartholomew, Mark Tracey, Ronnie Bartlett and our anonymous donors

The Pillars (£100+)Kate McGrath, Marcus Davey, David Lan, Theatre-Rites, Catharine Melvin, Susan Whiddington, Littoral, Daniel Bernstein and our anonymous donors


The Foundations (£50+): Katherine Osborn, Alan Lane, Nathalie Teitler, Eleanor Roberts, Louise Jeffreys, Natasha Harris, Rebecca Manson Jones, Ann David, Sinead Rushe, Keisha Thompson, Judith Knight, Elizabeth, Susan Murray, Kath Geraghty, Daniel King, Daisy Heath, Jude Kelly, Will Philipps, Elizabeth Philipps, Kaya Stanley-Money, Kerrie Walker and our anonymous donors

The Bricks (£5+): Marina Norris, Pragya Kumar, Kate Wasserberg, Sophie Bankes, Elizabeth Lynch, Adam Harrison, Sue Sandle, Matthew Austin, William Shackleton, Daniel Jones, Jo Woodbridge, Donna Lister, Assis Carreiro, Andy George, Andy George, Ros Philips, E J Gavaghan, Theatre Lover, Polly Gifford, Nicky Crabb, Andrew J. Hurst, Liz Hughes, Jamie Beddard, Julia Hodgson, Natasha Howes, Lydia Higginson, Kumiko Mendl, Manuela Benini, George Forster, Eugenia Low, Kathy Everett, Karen P, Rebecca Byrne, Rod Thomas, Sally Herbert, Ines Tercio, Ross Bolwell-Williams, Angus MacKechnie, Emma Attwell, Melanie, Alan J Stratford, Alex Levene, Matt Bilyard, Dan Jones, Paul Hilly, Alan Elsey, Cris Otto, Lauren Harvey-Dempster, Eileen Evans, Sue, Ankur Anand, Hannah Bird, Holly Leist, Amy Samson, Lilli Geissendorfer, Gillian Harris, Mrs Leanne Austin-Smith, Charlotte King, Christine Rose, Lisa Mallaghan, Ali Pidsley, Tina Turnbull and our anonymous donors


We need your financial support no matter how big or small. Join our wonderful supporters now and 100% of the money you donate will go straight to artists. Together we can MAKE IT HAPPEN

Volunteer Heroes 

We have relied on loads of brilliant people getting behind this idea and volunteering their time and skills. THANK YOU to everyone who has put so much effort into making this happen. 

Jon Chartres at Chartres Ltd for doing our accountancy.

Madelaine Bennet for doing all our PR for the launch.

Gillian Kelly for going above and beyond in making this website and our logo.

Tom Crooke at Bobbin Productions for shooting the crowdfunding video, Pop Hub and Bureau of Silly Ideas for giving us free space to shoot the video in and Janina Smith for editing it all together.

Michaela Zamloot and Juliet Simmons for project management support. 

Ben Raine for editing together our 1-2-1 series, writing a jingle, editing the poetry recordings in our giant megaphone!


Thanks to the many, many, MANY people who have given us advice, connected us with brilliant artists and given their time to help us think this through. THANK YOU! 

If you can help or want to get involved then get in touch on kathryn@artcry.co.uk

If you are interested in joining the panel in future please email Kathryn Bilyard on kathryn@artcry.co.uk with some information about yourself and why you are interested.

  • Instagram
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle

ARTCRY © 2020

The images shown on the website are examples of work we love, not work that is connected to or funded by ARTCRY